Honor exceptional teachers and school leaders by nominating them for EL Education’s 2022 Educator Awards by June 30th!
Header image

Michael R. Hollis Innovation Academy Principal, Dr. Diamond Ford, Receives National Leadership Award from EL Education

  • Date

  • Author

    EL Education

We are proud to announce that the recipient of the EL Education 2020 Silverberg Leadership Award is Dr. Diamond M. Ford, founding Principal of Michael R. Hollis Innovation Academy, PK-8 EL Education School in Atlanta, GA.

“Dr. Ford is a dynamic, passionate leader, with an innate ability to build a culture that reflects high expectations, inclusivity, teamwork, and joy for students, staff, and stakeholders. Under Dr. Ford’s leadership, Hollis has developed a strong, consistent, and innovative partnerships program that supports the overall mission and vision of the school.” - Excerpted from Dr. Ford’s nomination.

Ford will accept her award and deliver a speech at What Matters Most, the EL Education 2020 Virtual Summit on October 22. See Dr. Ford’s work in action in this video case study featuring Hollis Innovation Academy.

The Silverberg Leadership Award is given to an exemplary school leader who has successfully impacted student achievement through deep implementation of EL Education practices; united staff, students, and the broader community around an expanded vision of student success; and inspired teachers and students to embrace a culture of Crew and a sense of civic responsibility. The award comes with a $5,000 cash prize. The award is made possible by the generous support of Irwin Silverberg, who serves on the EL Education Board of Directors.

Dr. Ford is the seventh educator to receive the Silverberg Leadership Award. Past winners include Bill Haithcock, Laina Cox, Michelle Navarre, Derek Pierce, Lisa Wing, and Thabiti Brown.

EL Education proudly recognizes and congratulates all finalists for the 2020 Silverberg Leadership Award. These finalists stand out for their remarkable service to their school communities, as well as their passion to provide students with transformative educational experiences—steeped in challenge, leadership, and contribution. Finalists for the 2020 Silverberg Leadership Award are:

Educators nominated for the EL Education Silverberg Award:

  • Cynthia Clayton, Burns Elementary Middle School (Detroit, MI)
  • Esther Blackwell, Entheos Academy, Kearns (Kearns, UT)
  • Dr. Bill Coon, Meadow Glen Middle School (Lexington, SC)

Visit the EL Education website to learn more about the Educator Awards.