Exploring the EL Education Curriculum? Register now for summer Professional Development.

Silverberg Award

The Silverberg Leadership Award is given to a school leader who has successfully impacted student achievement outcomes through a deep implementation of EL Education practices, inspiring teachers, administrative staff, and students to embrace EL Education culture and to lead students to a superior education, enhanced character development, and sense of civic responsibility.

The leader should:

  • Catalyze positive leadership as a shared function in EL Education schools from teachers, parents, and students;
  • Inspire teachers and students to embrace the EL Education culture of quality and collegiality;
  • Create an atmosphere of engagement and high standards for both learning and character;
  • Set a “higher bar” for and recognize excellence among teachers and students; and
  • Encourage innovation while providing teachers the means to explore outstanding practices employed in the EL Education community.


  • A cash prize of $5,000
  • All expenses paid trip to the EL Education National Conference 

The Silverberg Leadership Award is made possible by Irwin Silverberg, Treasurer of the EL Education Board of Directors. 

2017 Silverberg Award Winner

2017 Winner of the Silverberg Award

Michelle Navarre, Head of School of Polaris Charter Academy, a K-8 EL Education Credentialed School in Chicago, has received the Silverberg Leadership Award in recognition of her leadership and successful implementation of EL Education pedagogy and culture, fostering outstanding student achievement. She received the award on October 27th at the EL Education 25th Anniversary National Conference in Chicago.

“Most of what I know about being a leader I have learned from the true leadership of my school, my students.” Michelle Navarre , Head of School of Polaris Charter Academy

Previous Winners

2016: Derek Pierce, Casco Bay High School
2016: Derek Pierce, Casco Bay High School
2015: Lisa Wing, Genesee Community Charter School
2015: Lisa Wing, Genesee Community Charter School
2014: Thabiti Brown, Codman Academy Charter Public School
2014: Thabiti Brown, Codman Academy Charter Public School

Nomination and Selection Process

Submit your nomination

Submit your nomination with a letter of support, no more than two pages in length, that explains how the leader exemplifies the award criteria is required. Letters must be signed by two or more teachers. Submissions are accepted from May 14 - June 11, 2018


All nominees for the award are notified during the week of June 18, 2018.


A committee of peers evaluate all the nominations over the summer and select a recipient.

Notification of Winners

All winners of the award are notified the week of September 10, 2018.

Award Presentation

The award is presented at the EL Education National Conference on November 9, 2018.

Want to receive an email when nominations open?

Sign up for updates

Please provide your first name

Please provide your last name

Please provide a valid email address

Please submit the reCaptcha.

Our Privacy Policy

Thank you, we'll notify you when nominations are being accepted.