We're hiring! Explore opportunities to join our Crew.
Header image

Curriculum Snapshot: a Journey toward Culturally Responsive Education

Webinar

RegisterShare
Add to Calendar 2021-05-262021-05-26Curriculum Snapshot: a Journey toward Culturally Responsive Education
  • Date

  • Grade Level

    K-2, 3-5, 6-8

  • Audience

    All Educators

  • Eligibility

    Public

Curriculum Snapshot: A Journey toward Culturally Responsive Education

Join us for a free Curriculum Snapshot Webinar to see inside the design and implementation of the EL Education K-8 Language Arts curriculum. During this 45-minute Snapshot, we’ll zoom in on the topic of culturally responsive curriculum and professional development.

Join EL Education curriculum designers and implementation experts on their journey to audit EL curriculum and PD for equity. See how they are co-creating new culturally responsive curriculum content in partnership with communities.

Hear from an educator and student using the EL Education curriculum in their district. Learn about how they experience topics and texts that affirm student identities and empower them to take action for causes they care about.

Understand how EL Education is drawing on the work of diverse scholars to frame culturally responsive education and bring it to life in meaningful ways. Be part of our learning journey!

Register to join us on Wednesday, May 26th at:

  • 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time
  • 12:00 p.m. Central Time
  • 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time
  • 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time
  • 9:00 a.m. Alaska Daylight Time
Register

Whether this is your very first insight into the curriculum, or you’re poised to take implementation to the next level with professional learning, this virtual Snapshot is the perfect chance for you to peek behind the curtain and hear from the people who know best: students, teachers, and experts interacting with the curriculum every day. If you’re interested in exploring curriculum implementation further, you can also schedule time with an EL specialist here.

Registration will remain open until May 26th at 12:00 p.m. Eastern time or until the webinar fills. Many events fill quickly, please register early to ensure a spot.

Speakers

Lillian Sengously Head Shot

Lillian Sengsouly

Student

Lillian is a 5th grader who loves all things softball. She is the pitcher and shortstop on her travel softball team and is proud to have served as a captain of her team. She loves eating all the food from her Filipino and Laos cultures, especially, homemade Bihon Pancit. She enjoys serving her Conway community as a school ambassador, Green Team leader, Cougar and Cubs leader which supports younger students in their academic and social needs.

Lori Cisterna

Lori Cisterna

Educator

Ms. Lori Cisterna has been an educator in Southern California for 24 years. She has served our students and community as a classroom teacher, an instructional coach, and as a PBIS Specialist for the Escondido Union School District. She is committed to equity and continues to be excited about professional growth for herself and for her colleagues.