Looking for ways to create collaborative, respectful classrooms?  Join our free webinar on Monday. 
Header image

Klingenstein Teacher Award

Thank you for your interest in the Klingenstein Teacher Award. Please note that the 2016 nomination window is now closed.

The Klingenstein Teacher Award is given annually to an EL Education teacher who exemplifies the spirit and values of EL Education in his or her daily practice.


The Klingenstein Teacher Award is given to an exemplary EL Education teacher who is judged by his or her peers to have most successfully transmitted to students the essence of our culture, building exemplary character, driving outstanding academic achievement, and instilling an ethic of “citizen scholarship.” The recipient should:

  • Instill in students a desire to learn, take responsibility for their own education and achieve good academic results;
  • Inspire students’ participation in good citizenship in its broader sense, as well as inside the classroom, in the school and as part of the greater community; and
  • Model the value of “We are Crew, not passengers,” in his or her classroom and school.

Prize and Benefits

The recipient of the Klingenstein Teacher Award receives:

  • A cash prize of $5,000
  • An invitation to attend the EL Education National Conference, with all expenses paid, and to receive the Award during the Opening Session of the National Conference
  • An invitation to present a Master Class at the National Conference
​"Teaching, particularly at an EL school, is a calling, not a career." Beth Mowry 2014 Klingenstein Teacher Award recipient

Watch the 2016 Klingenstein Teacher Award recipient Chris Dolgos' speech

Watch the 2015 Klingenstein Teacher Award recipient Jon Exall's speech

This award is made possible by the generous support of Lee Klingenstein, Founding Board Chair of EL Education.